Back to Top
banner-ourstory-rt

Our Journey

The idea to establish Silatech was born out of a vision of Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, that supporting the future of Arab youth supports all of the Arab society.

In 2006, as a member in the High-Level Group and an ambassador in the UN Alliance of Civilizations, Her Highness invited the members in New York to discuss “expanding opportunities for Arab youth.”

Following this meeting, a working team was formed including regional and international specialists. This team collaborated with international organizations to conduct research and to identify priority sectors in the Arab world, which lead to launching the initiative.

Silatech was formally launched at the Alliance of Civilizations Forum in January 2008 in Madrid, Spain, as a International Development organization that links Arab youth with employment and economic opportunities. The United Nations Secretary General then, Ban Ki-Moon announced his full support to Silatech.

The name of the organization “Silatech” was inspired by Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser from the root Arabic word “Sila,” which means “connection. Silatech remains true to its name as it aims to be a point of contact between the youth and labor market and enterprises.

By end of first quarter of 2017, Silatech succeeded in raising US$ 237 million in partner co-funding, creating a network of more than 150 partners and connecting more than 434,000 young Arabs to real job opportunities. Silatech currently has programs in 16 Arab countries, including Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, Morocco, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Yemen and Comoros.

The organisation works on achieving its mandate with the support of the State of Qatar.

العودة إلى الأعلى
banner-ourstory-rt

مسيرتنا

أتت فكرة المبادرة من اهتمام صاحبة السمو الشيخة موزا بنت ناصر - حفظها الله - بعنصر الشباب العربي، ورؤيتها في أن تدعيم مستقبل الشباب إنما هو تدعيم لمجتمعنا العربي.

في عام 2006، دعت صاحبة السمو بصفتها سفيراً في المجموعة رفيعة المستوى لتحالف الأمم المتحدة للحضارات، خلال اجتماعها في نيويورك لمناقشة "توسيع آفاق فرص العمل للشباب".

عقب الاجتماع رفيع المستوى، تم تكوين فريق عمل من مستشارين إقليمين ودوليين مختصين في هذا المجال كما تم التعاون مع منظمات دولية لإجراء دراسات بحثية لتحديد القطاعات ذات الأولوية في العالم العربي والذي أدّى إلى بلورة الفكرة.

في يناير 2008، تم إطلاق مبادرة صلتك رسمياً ضمن ملتقى تحالف الحضارات في مدينة مدريد الإسبانية كمؤسسة اجتماعية دولية تعمل على ربط الشباب العربي بوظائف وفرص اقتصادية، وأعلن حينئذ السيد بان كي مون، أمين عام الأمم المتحدة عن دعمه الكامل لصلتك.

استوحت صاحبة السمو الشيخة موزا بنت ناصر اسم المؤسسة من دلالة المفردة "صلة" في اللغة العربية وبذلك تكون المؤسسة اسماً على مسمَّى إذ أنها تهدف إلى أن تكون صلة الوصل بين الشباب وسوق العمل والمشاريع.

مع نهاية عام 2016، نجحت صلتك في حشد تمويل مشترك بلغ 237 مليون دولار أمريكي، وتوسيع شبكة تشمل أكثر من 150 شريك، ودعم توفير أكثر من 300 ألف فرصة عمل للشباب العربي. لدى صلتك حالياً برامج في 16 دولة عربية، بما في ذلك الجزائر، مصر، العراق، الأردن، لبنان، عُمان، المغرب، فلسطين، قطر، السعودية، الصومال، السودان، سوريا، تونس، اليمن، وجزر القمر.

تعمل المؤسسة على تحقيق أهدافها بالشراكة والدعم من حكومة دولة قطر.